My Hood is Oakland.

As we approach the summer I am starting to reminisce of my first real summer job. An intern for the Oakland Globe which I had to apply with a form of creative writing. Once being interviewed and called back the very next day it felt this was great start of my journalism career.  I can still remember the first couple of weeks being taught how to capture pictures,videos, and sound. They told me that  they want to focus on issues like violence, health and youth. Growing up in Oakland violence is something that you see everyday but trying to prevent it is a very difficult task. So once I was able to talk to people on certain issues I could feel I was doing what I born to do, journalism. Though as I started my journey it was still so new there was so much to learn. One of first interviews was with the mayor of Oakland, Jean Quan. As we started I realized getting to the true story is more than asking questions. It is about knowing you have to treat people like people. That is when you will be able to get the “real story” then the rest will follow. Asking others how violence influenced there lives is one thing but knowing you are part of the same neighborhoods changes the prospective on many things. That as Oaknland-er you here this stories so often you feel  unfazed and numb. Though that is the problem we need to stop repeating the same story over and over again. We need to take this in a new light and stop asking how and why they died. Instead ask and show why they lived not only as an “inner” city person but a human trying to thrive. I am proud to say my hood-even with all its imperfection-will always be Oakland. I hope I can comeback to help it grow to the beautiful “Oak”-land I know it can be. 

http://www.oaklandglobe.com/?p=71#more-71

2 thoughts on “My Hood is Oakland.

  1. As much as we want the area we live in to be safe. Some places are not so lucky and most likely it won’t change soon. In my town Fresno, the ghetto which is located in downtown is expanding outwards as the city is growing. I believe this will also happen to Oakland.

  2. I was born in San Francisco and raised in Oakland but I do feel the need to give back to both communities because they are in need in they are were I came from. Also, are you involved with this program, if so how did you get involved?, because I’m interested in the program and helping.

Leave a Reply

